Ramblers Orienteering Club
Centennial Park, DDO  –  May 9, 2004



It was a gorgeous day for Orienteering – warm and sunny.  There were 93 “starts”, 130 individuals, including a number of young children with their parents.   34 students from Dawson College took part, most making a valiant effort on the longest of the four courses.  Teachers, Ginny Malcolm and Kathy Morrison deserve the credit for their orienteering development. 
 
Some great performances were recorded on each of the 4 courses.  Pascal Tremblay completed the nearly 9 km course in one hour and 17 seconds.  Charles Deslisle was second in 1:03:45 and Yvan Duchesne, the “senior” amongst the elite, was just 49 seconds behind Deslisle.  Fastest woman on the course was Joëlle Cheble who covered the 21-control course in 1:21:59.
 
A triumvirate of Ramblers members, two of them women, led Course 3,  which was also used as the first-half of Course 4.  Christope Deprez was the fleetest, punching in at the 12 controls in just over 35 minutes. Denise OBriain and Yee Fun Wong were close behind in 48:38 and 51:18, respectively.
 
Course 2, was slightly easier but covered 4.65 km and had 17 controls.  Three groups led the way: Frédéric Guindon’s threesome in 51:40, follow by Charles & Alexandre Mathys, 53:47  and Sylvaine Grouset’s group, 1:00:22.
 
43 controls were used for the 4 courses.  All were orange plastic tapes, with a code letter written on them.  A punch was placed close by, often attached to a tree with a plastic cable tie.  The woods were only beginning to show their greenery and, consequently, offered little in the way of concealment for our controls. 
 
It was unfortunate that many competitors, especially the Dawson students, neglected to check the code letters on the controls with those given on their control descriptions.  It would have avoided the many “mis-punches”. 
 
Thanks to Gloria C who did the registration, along with Yee Fun Wong who provided much-needed help.  Eric Lillie arrived too late for the starts but kindly offered to pick up all the controls.   Our thanks, also, to Dollard-des-Ormeaux Recreation and Parks Service for an enjoyable day – and for the use of the park chalet.  I hope all of you enjoyed the beauty of the park, the chirping of the birds …and the playful raccoons.
 
John C
Ramblers Orienteering Club

Club d'Orienteering Ramblers


Parc Centenaire, DDO  –  9 mai 2004


C’était une journée magnifique d’Orientering - douce et ensoleillée.  On a compté 93 départs, 130 individus dont un certain nombre de jeunes enfants accompagnés de leurs parents.  34 étudiants du collège Dawson ont participé, la plupart d’entre eux ont déployé des efforts remarqués sur le parcours le plus long.  Les enseignantes Ginny Malcolm et Kathy Morrison obtiennent le crédit d’avoir développé les talents d’orientering de ces étudiants.
 
Quelques performances mémorables ont été signalées sur chacun des 4 parcours.  Pascal Tremblay a complété le parcours de près de 9 km en une heure 17 secondes..  Charles Deslisle est arrivé deuxième en 1:03:45 et Yvan Duchesne, le membre « sénior » du groupe d’élite, n’est arrivé que 49 secondes derrière Deslisle.  La femme la plus rapide du parcours fut Joëlle Cheble qui a parcouru les 21 balises du parcours en 1:21:59.
 
Un triumvirat de membres du club Ramblers , dont deux femmes, ont dominé le parcours 3,  qui a aussi été utilisé en première moitié du parcours 4.  Christophe Deprez fut le plus preste, couvrant les 12 balises en un peu plus de 35 minutes.   Denise OBriain et Yee Fun Wong suivaient de près avec des temps de 48:38 et 51:18, respectivement.
 
Le parcours 2 était un peu plus facile, toutefois il était long de 4.65 km et contenait 17 balises.  Trois groupes ont pris les devants: le trio de Frédéric Guindon  est arrivé premier en 51:40, suivi par Charles & Alexandre Mathys, 53:47  et le groupe de Sylvaine Grouset, 1:00:22.
 
Au total, 43 balises ont été utilisées pour les 4 parcours.  Toutes étaient constituées de rubans de plastique orange, avec comme inscription une lettre codée.  Un poinçon était placé tout près, souvent rattaché à un arbre grâce à une attache en plastique.  Les boisés commencent à verdir, de sorte qu’il y avait peu de moyens de dissimuler les balises. 
 
Il est dommage que plusieurs compétiteurs, notamment des étudiants du collège Dawson, aient omis de vérifier les lettres codées sur les balises avec ce qui était marqué sur les description des balises transcrites sur leur fiche de contrôle.  Ceci aurait évité bien des erreurs de « poinçonnement ».
 
Merci à Gloria Charlow qui s’est occupé des inscriptions, de pair avec Yee Fun Wong qui nous a offert une aide bien utile.  Eric Lillieest arrivé en retard pour les départs mais a gentiment offert son aide pour ramasser toutes les balises.   Nos remerciements vont aussi au service des parcs et des loisirs de Dollard-des-Ormeaux pour cette journée fort agréable – ainsi que pour la permission d’utiliser le chalet du parc.  J’espère que vous aurez profité de la beauté du parc, du chant des oiseaux… et des pitreries des ratons-laveurs.

John C.
Club d'Orientering Ramblers